COVID-19

To learn more, visit santeestrie.qc.ca/covid-19

Questions? Call 1-844-721-6094 (Estrie) or 1-877-644-4545 (Monday to Friday: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.).

What is the DYP?

Role

The Director of Youth Protection (DYP) is entrusted with enforcing the Youth Protection Act (YPA). This Act applies to children whose security or development is or may be considered to be in danger. These are children deemed to be highly vulnerable and in need of protection.

Situations in which the DYP can intervene

The DYP intervenes primarily in situations in which the security or development of a child is in danger:

  • abandonment;
  • neglect;
  • psychological mistreatment;
  • sexual abuse;
  • physical abuse;
  • serious behavioural disturbance;
  • exposure to a severe risk of becoming a victim of neglect, sexual abuse, or physical abuse.

The DYP must work with a child and his parents to end the situation that is endangering the child’s security or development and prevent the situation from recurring, in the best interest of the child and in accordance with his rights.

Resources are available to parents and youth throughout the development of the children and in accordance with their life situations. These resources differ from Youth Protection services.

The DYP also provides:

Services to young offenders

The DYP intervenes with youth who commit offences - young offenders. Our intervention aims to protect society while simultaneously helping the young offender to assume his responsibility, to redress wrongs, and to find a way to adopt behaviours that are more suited to living in society.

Clinical programs at the rehabilitation centres

Through its rehabilitation services, the Direction du programme jeunesse (youth program directorate) offers support to any youth who wishes to take charge of his own development in order to re-establish a certain harmony in his relations with his family and his environment.

Psychosocial services and expertise to the Superior Court

At the request of a Superior Court judge and with the consent of the parents, the DYP assesses certain family situations during separation and divorce procedures, or after the separation or divorce. Our assessment aims to provide the court with recommendations regarding the custody of minor children.

Services for mothers with adaptation difficulties

Villa Marie-Claire offers accommodation to pregnant women with adaptation difficulties or provides a stay in residence for the mother and her children aged 0 to 5 years. The father of the child or the partner of the mother can be involved throughout the stay. Support is provided to the parents so that they can improve their parenting skills.

Housing resources

The Direction du programme jeunesse (youth program directorate) relies on a network of foster families and on other resources, which thus ensures a placement that is adapted to the different needs of youth who cannot live in their family environments.

Québec and international adoption

The DYP provides the services required for the adoption of a child. A child who is orphaned or abandoned, or whose parents have waived their right to exercise parental authority can count on our assistance to find a new family for him.

Learn more about adoption

Searching for family antecedents and reunions

The DYP assists people who have been adopted to obtain available information about their biological parents and to contact them. We offer similar services to people who have given a child up for adoption. Reunification between parents and children always requires mutual agreement among the persons involved.

Learn more about family antecedents and reunions

Share

COVID-19

Pour en savoir plus, visitez santeestrie.qc.ca/covid-19

Des questions? Appelez au 1 877 644-4545. Des symptômes? Faites votre autoévaluation.

Qu'est-ce que la DPJ?

Rôle

La Direction de la protection de la jeunesse (DPJ) est chargée de l’application de la Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse (LPJ). Cette  loi s'applique aux enfants qui vivent des situations compromettant ou pouvant compromettre leur sécurité ou leur développement. Il s'agit d'enfants que l'on considère en grande difficulté et en besoin de protection.

Situations où la DPJ peut intervenir

La DPJ intervient principalement dans les situations où la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est compromis :

  • abandon;
  • négligence;
  • mauvais traitements psychologiques;
  • abus sexuels;
  • abus physiques;
  • troubles de comportement sérieux;
  • exposition à un risque sérieux d’être victime de négligence, d’abus sexuels ou d’abus physiques.

L’intervention de la DPJ auprès d’un enfant et de ses parents doit viser à mettre fin à la situation qui compromet la sécurité ou le développement de l’enfant et à éviter qu’elle ne se reproduise, et ce, dans l’intérêt de l’enfant et dans le respect de ses droits.

Des ressources sont offertes aux parents et aux jeunes tout au long du développement des enfants et selon les situations vécues. Ces ressources diffèrent des services de la protection de la jeunesse.

C'est aussi :

Les services aux jeunes contrevenants

La DPJ intervient auprès des jeunes qui commettent des délits, les jeunes contrevenants. Notre intervention vise à protéger la société tout en aidant le jeune à assumer ses responsabilités, à réparer le tort causé et à retrouver un comportement mieux adapté à la vie en société.

Les programmes cliniques en centres de réadaptation

La DPJe, à travers l’action de ses services de réadaptation, soutient le jeune qui veut reprendre en main son propre développement afin de rétablir une certaine harmonie dans ses relations avec sa famille et son milieu.

Les services psychosociaux et l’expertise à la Cour supérieure

La DPJ, à la demande d’un juge de la Cour supérieure et avec le consentement des parents, évalue certaines situations familiales pendant les procédures de séparation ou de divorce, ou après la séparation ou le divorce. Notre évaluation vise à fournir au tribunal des recommandations relatives à la garde des enfants mineurs.

Service aux mères en difficulté d’adaptation

L’installation Villa Marie-Claire héberge les femmes en difficulté d’adaptation pendant leur grossesse ou pour un séjour de la mère avec ses enfants âgés de 0 à 5 ans. Le père de l’enfant ou le conjoint de la mère peut s’impliquer tout au long de l’hébergement. Un soutien est apporté aux parents afin qu’ils développent leurs habiletés parentales.

Les ressources d’hébergement

La DPJe compte sur un réseau de familles d’accueil et sur d’autres ressources, ce qui permet d’assurer un hébergement adapté aux différents besoins des jeunes qui ne peuvent vivre dans leur milieu familial.

L’adoption québécoise et internationale

La DPJ fournit les services nécessaires à l’adoption d’un enfant. L’enfant orphelin, ou abandonné, ou celui dont les parents ont renoncé à exercer leurs droits parentaux, peut compter sur notre aide pour trouver une nouvelle famille.

En savoir plus sur l'adoption

La recherche d’antécédents et les retrouvailles

La DPJ aide les personnes qui ont été adoptées à obtenir les informations disponibles sur leurs parents naturels ou à prendre contact avec eux. Nous fournissons des services similaires aux personnes qui avaient confié un enfant à l’adoption. Les retrouvailles entre parents et enfants nécessitent toujours l’accord des personnes concernées.

En savoir plus sur les antécédents et retrouvailles 

Partager